About

The STEM Education Coalition’s mission is to raise awareness amongst policymakers at every level about the critical role that science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education plays in enabling the U.S. to remain the economic and technological leader of the global marketplace of the 21st century. The Coalition believes that our nation must improve the way our students learn STEM and that the business, education, and STEM communities must work together to achieve this goal.

The Coalition is 501c4 non-profit organization.

Get on Our Email List

Annual Reports:

Board of Directors

Jodi Peterson
Board Member, Chair
Assistant Executive Director, Legislative and Public Affairs
National Science Teachers Association
jpeterson@nsta.org

Lauren E. Posey
Board Member
Manager, Education
American Chemical Society
l_posey@acs.org

Karen Horting
Board Member
Chief Executive Officer
Society of Women Engineers
Karen.Horting@sweoffice.org

Wes Hall
Board Member
Executive Director
STEMx 
HALLJ@battelle.org

Steve Alexander
Board Member, Treasurer
Principal
Hands on Science Partnership
salexander@cmrgroup4.com

Allyson Knox
Board Member
Director, Education Policy
Microsoft Corporation
allyknox@microsoft.com

Ken Krehbiel
Board Member
Executive Director
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
kkrehbiel@nctm.org

Todd Mann
Board Member
Executive Director
National Consortia of Secondary STEM Schools
todd.mann@ncsss.org

Chris Neitzey
Board Member
Director of STEM Initiatives
Afterschool Alliance
cneitzey@afterschoolalliance.org

 

 

Our Team

James Brown
Executive Director, jfbrown@stemedcoalition.org

James Brown is the Executive Director of the STEM Education Coalition. Prior to joining the Coalition, he was Director of Advocacy at the American Chemical Society.  A nuclear engineer by training, he previously worked as a Legislative Aide for Rep. Doc Hastings of Washington, was Director of Policy and Development at the Consumer Energy Council of America, and began his career as an engineer with Newport News Shipbuilding, working on aircraft carrier construction.  He received a B.S. from the University of New Mexico and an M.S. from Penn State, both in nuclear engineering. He also holds an MBA from George Washington University.

Austin Hall
Director, Policy Initiatives, ahall@stemedcoalition.org 

Austin Hall is Director of Policy Initiatives, focusing on government relations, research, and member advocacy initiatives for the coalition. Hall has previous experience working on issues surrounding the federal government research and STEM education portfolio; computer science education; STEM Education in Higher Education; informal STEM learning; and career and technical education. Hall has also interned in the Washington D.C. office of Congressman Henry Cuellar (D-TX) and was elected to serve as a delegate to the 2016 Democratic National Convention, where he represented children and education interests during the Texas delegation platform deliberations. Austin earned a B.A. in Political Science with a minor in Music Education from the University North Texas.

Michelle Collins
Manager, Operations, mcollins@stemedcoalition.org

Michelle Collins is the current Manager of Operations for the Coalition. Prior to joining us, Michelle held many Operations roles in the private sector and with the United States Air Force, where she was an Education and Training Manager and Special Event Coordinator/Manager.