About

Our Purpose

The STEM Education Coalition works aggressively to raise awareness in Congress, the Administration, and other organizations about the critical role that STEM education plays in enabling the U.S. to remain the economic and technological leader of the global marketplace of the 21st century. Members of the STEM Coalition believe that our nation must improve the way our students learn science, mathematics, technology and engineering and that the business, education, and STEM communities must work together to achieve this goal.

Contact Information

Address

STEM Education Coalition
2000 M Street NW
Suite 520
Washington, D.C. 20036

Staff

James Brown
Executive Director
(202) 400-2192 (office) / jfbrown@stemedcoalition.org

Aubrey DeVillez 
Legislative & Community Outreach Liaison
(202) 470-2393 / adevillez@stemedcoalition.org

Taylor Luczak 
Media, Marketing, & Communications Coordinator
(202) 470-2393 / t.luczak@stemedcoalition.org

Coalition Leadership

Jodi Peterson
Chair
Assistant Executive Director, Legislative and Public Affairs
National Science Teachers Association
(703) 312-9214jpeterson@nsta.org

Lauren E. Posey
Co-Chair
Legislative Associate
American Chemical Society
(202) 872-8725l_posey@acs.org

Melissa Carl
Co-Chair
Manager, Government Relations
ASME
202-785-7380carlm@asme.org

Judith Opert Sandler
Co-Chair
Senior Policy Advisor
Education Development Center
(617) 618-2409jsandler@edc.org

Steve Alexander
Co-Chair
Principal
Hands on Science Partnership
(202) 316-3046salexander@cmrgroup4.com

Bill Kamela
Co-Chair
Senior Director, Education and Workforce
Microsoft Corporation
(202) 263-5926bkamela@microsoft.com

Ken Krehbiel
Co-Chair
Associate Executive Director, Communications
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
703-620-9840kkrehbiel@nctm.org